Genestealer Cults – Comments about the FAQ

Hi everyone,

This is a follow-up to my GSC rules issues post.

A while ago, many FAQs were updated, including the wonderful Genestealer Cults. Here’s a link to the Black Library FAQs. I’m quite happy that the GSC made it into the FAQs, as they needed a lot of clarification.

I was incredibly surprised and pleased to see so many of my questions were in the FAQ! This really shows that the GW FAQ team really do read emails and take note! So please do email them with any rules questions.

The one thing I’m super embarrassed about is that I missed something on one of my questions.
“Does the Genestealer Familiar attack with the character’s Weapon Skill and Attacks?”
Of course, I meant Initiative, not Attacks! Unfortunately the GW FAQ team missed this and they said Yes in the FAQ. So, based on the FAQ, and due to errors from me and the GW FAQ team, a familiar attacks with the same number of Attacks as the character. Please don’t try to use that rule, it’s really meant to be Initiative! I already emailed the team to correct that one. Oops, my bad.

One other thing to note, the team actually found my blog page and used the exact wording of some of my answers. I never expected this to happen, but I have no issue with it. I’m quite pleased actually. After all, my wording was nice and clear and specific, (yes, yes, except for that Familiar question!), and I believe they all make sense.

The FAQs err on the side of caution, so there’s no more interesting tactics, like rolling all the Cult Ambush dice first and then deploying all units, or using CA and then having the Heavy weapons count as being stationary. If GW were to go with a super-fluffy set of rules, GSC would likely be way overpowered and make Eldar (Aeldari?!) players cry “OP!”

As it is, I love the balance of fluffy and powerful rules. Most things are nice and clear and we can really settle down to working out some great tactics.

Comments 46,183

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

?>